Past Honorees

Read about past honorees of the Pearl Birnbaum Hurwitz Humanism in Healthcare Award below.


2022 Recipient

Dr. Thuy “Twee” D. Bui, Professor of Medicine and has been the Director of the Global Health Residency Track at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine (UPSOM) and UPMC for over 15 years. She is also an affiliated faculty member of the Center for Health Equity, Behavioral and Community Health Sciences, Graduate School of Public Health, and the African Studies Program, University Center for International Studies, University of Pittsburgh.

2022 Posthumous Honoree

Dr. Bonita F. Stanton was given a special posthumous award. Dr. Stanton was Founding Dean of Hackensack Meridian School of Medicine. Read the announcement of Dr. Stanton’s award.

2022 Honorable Mentions

Dr. Julie Aultman, from Northeast Ohio Medical University (NEOMED), Dr. Jennifer L. Haak, from Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences at the University at Buffalo and John R. Oishei Children’s Hospital, and Dr. Aliza S .Norwood, from University of Texas at Austin Dell Medical School.

Read the announcement of Drs. Aultman, Haak, and Norwood’s award.


2021 Recipient

Dr. Ruby Mendenhall, Professor at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and Associate Dean for Diversity and Democratization of Health Innovation at the Carle Illinois College of Medicine. She is also the Co-Director of STEM Illinois and the Director of the medical school’s new Health Maker Lab node (Designing Resiliency and Well-being).

Watch this special virtual ceremony that celebrated Dr. Mendenhall.

2021 Honorable Mentions

Dr. Lara Carson Weinstein, from Thomas Jefferson University Department of Family & Community Medicine, Project HOME, Pathways to Housing PA, and Dr. Mildred MG Olivier, from Chicago Medical School at Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science.

Read more about our 2021 Honorees.


2020 Recipient

Hoonani (Nani) Cuadrado, Director of Valley Health Partners (VHP) Street Medicine in Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania.

In 2020, the Gold Foundation honored Nani Cuadrado through a virtual ceremony. The below video presentation also includes Gold Foundation President/CEO Dr. Richard I. Levin, benefactor Dr. Ron Arky, and Pearl’s daughter, Julie Seelig.

A wonderful “Advocacy & Grassroots Change” session at the 2021 Humanism & Healing Conference follows their remarks, which features five Pearl Birnbaum Hurwitz Award honorees in conversation – Veda Johnson, MD, Nancy Oriol, MD, Dinali Fernando, MD, Mardge Cohen, MD, and our 2020 honoree, Nani Cuadrado, PA. These remarkable women share how they identified a problem within healthcare for at risk populations and successfully advocated for change.

2020 Honorable Mentions

Dr. Chinazo Cunningham from Montefiore Medical Center/Albert Einstein College of Medicine and Dr. Ann Garment from Bellevue Hospital/NYU Grossman School of Medicine

Read more about our 2020 Honorees. 


2019 Recipient

Dr. Nancy Oriol, a renowned anesthesiologist, innovator, educator, and pioneer in mobile medicine.

2019 Honorable Mentions

Dr. Kalyani Gopal and Dr. Cathy Miller, who have made remarkable contributions to combating human trafficking and caring for survivors.

Read more about our 2019 Honorees.


2018 Recipient

Dr. Dinali Fernando, who has done groundbreaking work caring for survivors of torture and human rights violations.

2018 Honorable mentions
  • Dr. Kathleen Reeves, who has made an immense impact on urban distressed communities and violence intervention and prevention.
  • Dr. Marlene Melzer-Lange, who has been a leader in violence prevention and efforts to reduce the physical and psychological impact of the trauma.

Read more about our 2018 Honorees.


2017 Recipient

Dr. Veda Johnson, who is recognized as an influential force locally in Atlanta, regionally, and nationally in school-based healthcare.

Read more about our 2017 Honoree.


2016 Inaugural Recipient

Dr. Mardge Cohen, who has been advocating for people living with HIV, especially women and children, for close to 30 years.

2016 Honorable Mentions:
  • Dr. Anne Armstrong-Coben, a pediatrician and Medical Director at Children’s Aid and Family Services in New Jersey who advocates for improving access to healthcare for children living in foster care;
  • Lynn Ricci, MA, LTCA, an advocate for children with autism and their families and Senior Vice President and Chief Operating Officer at the Autism Center at the Hospital for Special Care in Connecticut; and
  • Marilyn Saviola, MA, Vice President at the Independence Care System, Women’s Health Access Program in New York where she works to address health disparities experienced by people with disabilities.

Read more about our Inaugural Honorees.