Humanism in Medicine Award at the AAMC

The Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award at the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) annual meeting honors caring and compassionate mentors in medical school education.

Dr. Maura George

Together with the AAMC, the Gold Foundation is delighted to announce the 2022 honoree: Dr. Maura George, Associate Professor of Medicine at Emory University School of Medicine and an internist at Grady Memorial Hospital in Atlanta, Georgia.

Read the full announcement of her award.

Who is Eligible?

Medical school faculty physicians (MD or DO degree) who play a role in the teaching and advising of medical students and who serve as role models for compassionate, patient-centered care.

How to Apply

The award is administered by the Organization of Student Representatives (OSR), the student branch of the AAMC, and the nomination process is conducted by the OSR in each medical school.


Each medical school may nominate one physician faculty member.  The OSR representative is responsible for distributing information about the nomination process to students within his/her institution. The OSR representative appoints a selection committee composed of medical student representatives from each of the four years of medical study. Upon completion of the selection process, the Dean of Student Affairs signs off on the institution’s nominee. The OSR representative notifies the nominee of the award nomination.

The award selection committee is composed of a maximum of six OSR Administrative Board members. The AAMC staff serve as advisors to the selection committee. The selection committee meets during the summer to select the national award recipient.

View the selection criteria and nomination instructions on the AAMC website.

The deadline for 2021 nominations has passed.

Click here for 2022 nomination procedures.

Honoring the recipient

The recipient of the Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award is honored at an awards dinner held during the AAMC Annual Meeting and is invited to speak to the Organization of Student Representatives about the importance of humanism in medicine. The award recipient will receive a grant of $5,000, and $1,000 will be donated to the nominating institution’s OSR interest group in support of OSR-related activities.


2021 Recipient

Natalie Rodriguez, MD
Associate Clinical Professor
Department of Family Medicine
University of California, San Diego, School of Medicine
Associate Director of the UCSD Student-Run Free Clinic Project

Learn more about Dr. Rodriguez.

2020 Recipient

Patricia Garcia, MD, MPH
Associate Dean for Curriculum
Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology and Medical Education
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Learn more about Dr. Garcia.

2019 Recipient

Hoover Adger, MD, MPH, MBA
Professor of Pediatrics
Adolescent Medicine Section Chief
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Learn more about Dr. Adger.

2018 Recipient

Mark T. Garry, MD
Assistant Professor of Psychiatry
University of South Dakota Sanford School of Medicine

Learn more about Dr. Garry.

2017 Recipient

Laurie Woodard, MD
Director, Public Sector Medicine Program
Professor, Family Medicine
University of South Florida Morsani College of Medicine

Learn more about Dr. Woodard.

2016 Recipient

Carol M. Gilbert, MD
Director, Patient Transportation
Associate Professor, Surgery
Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine

Learn more about Dr. Gilbert.

2015 Recipient

Elisabeth Wilson, MD, MPH
Director of Education and Associate Clinical Professor
Department of Family and Community Medicine
University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine

2014 Recipient

Cynthia Haq, MD
Professor of Family Medicine and Population Health Sciences
University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health

2013 Recipient

Lee Todd Miller, MD
Co-Director, Global Health Education Program
Vice Chair for Education Department of Pediatrics
David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA

2012 Recipient

Chin-To Fong, MD
Associate Professor – Department of Pediatrics
Director, Cancer Genetics Clinic
Chief, Division of Pediatric Genetics
University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry

2011 Recipient

Henri R. Ford, MD, MHA
Vice President, Chief of Surgery, Children’s Hospital of Los Angeles
Vice-Dean, Medical Education – Professor and Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs, Department of Surgery, Keck School of Medicine of USC

2010 Recipient

George R. Buchanan, MD
Professor of Pediatrics and Director of Pediatric Hematology-Oncology
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

2009 Recipient

Jonathan Woodson, MD
Associate Dean for Students, Diversity, and Multicultural Affairs
Associate Professor of Surgery
Boston University School of Medicine