GHHS Advisory Council

GHHS Advisory Council advises and recommends policies and activities for GHHS to the Arnold P. Gold Foundation board and management.  The Council also assesses and responds to members’ needs to further the mission of GHHS.

The Council meets four times a year, either via conference calls or at face-to-face meetings.  Calls for nominations and applications to the Advisory Council will be posted on this webpage when the Advisory Council is actively filling vacant positions.

Who is Eligible to Serve on the Advisory Council?

The Advisory Council is composed of students, residents, fellows, deans, institution officials, program directors, practicing physicians, GHHS Chapter Advisors, Tow Award winners, members at large, and a trustee of the Arnold P. Gold Foundation.

Policies and Procedures for Governance of the Gold Humanism Honor Society

Advisory Council Committees

  • Executive Committee
  • Governance Committee
  • Membership Committee
  • Program Committee

Learn more about each committee’s role here.

Applications are now being accepted for the committees. GHHS committee meetings are held monthly by conference call, and each member serves a term of 3 years. To apply, please send your CV and a personal statement describing why you’d like to join a particular committee to Louisa Tvito at

Current Advisory Board Members

Scott Shaffer, MD – Chair
Assistant Professor for the Departments of Pediatics and Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences
Albert Einstein College of Medicine at Yeshiva University

Howard Silverman, MD, MS – Immediate Past Chair
Professor, Departments of Biomedical Informatics, Family & Community Medicine and Bioethics & Medical Humanism
The University of Arizona College of Medicine – Phoenix

Gregory Cherr, MD – Chair Elect             
Associate Professor of Surgery, Assistant Dean for Graduate Medical Education
University at Buffalo, State University of New York , Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences

Emily Abdoler, MD
Fellow Member
University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine

Jonathan Amiel, MD
Associate Dean for Curricular Affairs
Columbia University Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons

Terri Babineau, MD, FAAFP
Lynchburg Family Medicine Faculty – Big Island Rural Medicine Appalachia Clinic

Colleen Christmas, MD
Director, Primary Care Leadership Track, The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Associate Professor of Medicine

Ralph “Nicholas” Burns, MD
Resident Member
Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University

Women and Infants Hospital of Rhode Island, Resident in Obstetrics and Gynecology

Catherine Derber, MD, FACP
Associate Clerkship Director for Internal Medicine
Associate Professor of Infectious Diseases, Department of Internal Medicine
Eastern Virginia Medical School

James Dunford, MD
Professor Emeritus of Emergency Medicine
UC San Diego

Charity Evans, MD, MHCM, FACS
Assistant Professor
University of Nebraska Medical Center

Rosemarie L. Fisher, MD
Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics, Director and Associate Dean of Graduate Medical Education
Yale School of Medicine

Aubrey Knight, MD
Associate Dean for Student Affairs
Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine and Research Institut

Malika Madhava
Student Member
Sidney Kimmel Medical College – Thomas Jefferson University

Paul O’Rourke, MD
GHHS Fellow Member
Internal Medicine, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Sheryl A. Pfeil, MD
Professor of Clinical Medicine
Medical Director of the Clinical Skills Education and Assessment Center
The Ohio State University College of Medicine

Hellen Ransom, DHCE
East Carolina University, Brody School of Medicine

Patricia Sexton, DHEd, FNAOME
Associate Dean for Curriculum, Department of Family Medicine
Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine

John Song, MD, MPH, MAT
Associate Professor
University of Minnesota Medical School

Carol Stanford, MD, FACP
Associate Professor
University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Medicine
Medical Director
Comprehensive Sickle Cell Clinic, Truman Medical Center

Nina Stoyan-Rosenzweig, MA
Director, Medical Humanities Program
University of Florida College of Medicine

Silpa Thaivalappil, MD
Fellow Member

Elizabeth (Betsy) Toll, MD
Clinical Associate Professor, Pediatrics and Medicine
The Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University

Rajitha Devadoss Venkatesh, MD
Fellow Member
Pediatric Gastroenterology
Massachusetts General Hospital

Ex-Officio Members without Voting Rights

Richard I. Levin, MD

The Arnold P. Gold Foundation