2019 DeWitt C. Baldwin Jr. Award presented to 3 institutions

March 8, 2019 — The DeWitt C. Baldwin Jr. Award, in its fourth year, is presented by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) and The Arnold P. Gold Foundation to recognize institutions with accredited residency/fellowship programs that are exemplary in fostering a respectful, supportive environment for medical education and the delivery of patient care, which leads to the personal and professional development of learners.

The recipients of the 2019 DeWitt C. Baldwin Jr. Award are:

Henry Ford Hospital
Detroit, Michigan

University of Massachusetts Medical School
Worcester, Massachusetts

Middlesex Health
Middletown, Connecticut

Representatives of the three winning institutions of the 2019 DeWitt C. (Bud) Baldwin Award, Henry Ford Hospital, UMass Memorial Medical Center, and Middlesex Health, stand with ACGME and Gold Foundation representatives at the 2019 ACGME Annual Educational Conference.

The awards were announced in Orlando, Florida, on March 8, 2019, as part of the 2019 ACGME Annual Educational Conference: Engaging Each Other: Meaning in Medicine.

Elizabeth Cleek, PsyD, Chief Operating Officer of The Arnold P. Gold Foundation, gave brief remarks during the awards ceremony.

“Our three 2019 winners serve as excellent examples of compassionate, collaborative learning environments, in which humanism is woven throughout their residency programs, and indeed, throughout the fabric of their institutions,” she said. “In turn, these institutions train doctors who value and practice the same culture of compassion and collaboration with their patients.”

Each winning institution will be profiled on our website in the coming months in order to share best practices and insights with other residency/fellowship programs.

The ACGME and Gold Foundation DeWitt (Bud) C. Baldwin, Jr. Award originated in 2016 to highlight institutions with accredited residency/fellowship programs that are exemplary in fostering a respectful environment for medical education training. The award also seeks to highlight the focus of patient-centered care and compassion throughout the institution. Former winners include Excela Latrobe Hospital of Latrobe, Pennsylvania; Memorial Hospital of South Bend, Indiana; the Medical College of Wisconsin Affiliated Hospitals, Inc. of Milwaukee, Wisconsin; VA Caribbean Healthcare System of San Juan, Puerto Rico; Gundersen Lutheran Medical Foundation of LaCrosse, Wisconsin; Montana Family Medicine of Billings, Montana; Vanderbilt University Medical Center of Nashville, Tennessee; and Virginia Commonwealth University Health System of Richmond, Virginia.

We congratulate Henry Ford Hospital, UMass Memorial Medical Center, and Middlesex Health and are proud to recognize them for fostering a respectful, supportive environment.

Read about all the ACGME 2019 award winners at the ACGME website here.